A Talk With Akshay Ajit Singh

Hello People!

We are back with the success and inspirational stories. We recently talked to the dashing Akshay Ajit Singh who portrayed the character of Anil Kapoor’s son, Veer Singh Rathore in 24 season 2. Many girls fell for his suave looks and strong acting but there is something that he shared with us that may break your heart but you must read on to know more about him. He shares with us how he started his career in the entertainment industry.

So, here we start:

JessicaTell us something about yourself.

Akshay: I was born in a tribal village in a remote part of Orissa called Nabrangpur but my parents are from Bihar. I have lived all across India as my father was a fighter pilot in the Indian Air Force. So whenever someone asks me where I’m from, I always say India. I love the confused look they all give me 😉  My mom is a terrific writer and I have an elder sister who is a commercial airline pilot.

JessicaYour sister is a commercial pilot. Didn’t you want to be a commercial pilot too?

Akshay: Not really. My sister was passionate about flying so she chose that and now is excelling in it. I was the happiest when I was on stage, be it a debate competition, a speech or a play. So we both chose what we were passionate about.Not everyone gets what they want.

Jessica: If you could not have made it in this industry, what would you have been doing now?

Akshay: I would have definitely been a professional athlete. If I’m not acting, I’m at the basketball court playing.

Jessica: Your sister recently wrote on your Facebook “Bhai! Tu toh star ban gaya!!” how did you feel?

Akshay: Haha…yeah, she is a little crazy! All sisters are I’m sure. So, this dream of mine was not mine alone. It materialised because of all the collective will and ambitions of my entire family and friends. So whenever I win, they feel the victory in their hearts.

Jessica: When did you realise that you are meant to be in the entertainment industry?

Akshay: All throughout my growing up, I would enjoy performing more than I enjoyed studying. I mean don’t get me wrong…I was a very good student. I fell in love with performing at a very young age.

Jessica: How did you come to fame?

Akshay: Not sure whether I’ve come to fame yet, I moved to Bombay 5 years back. During this time I had the privilege of performing at Prithvi Theatre, NCPA and Kalaghoda in different plays. That really helped me understand what performing is all about.

Jessica: 24 is a big platform to showcase your acting skills. How did you get the role of Veer Singh Rathod? How has the experience been working with the great Mr. Anil kapoor, Sapna Pabbi, Sakshi Talwar and Neil Bhoopalam?

Akshay: I was called in for an audition. For the first time in my life, I read the script and I was sure that I’m Veer. My audition was a single take and I came back home, joined a gym and started working out to get in the shape that Veer would be in. I started researching on the character and worked on his back story like where he came from, what life he had led so far and so on. They hadn’t even confirmed me yet, but deep down I was sure I was getting it. After a couple of months, I got the call that I’ve made it! Well it was an amazing experience performing with all these legends. The level of commitment and passion they get on the floor is inspiring.

Jessica: Tell us something about your director, Mr. Abhiney Deo.

Akshay: So I was fortunate to work with all the directors of 24. And they all got different energies and mood to the table. I’ve really had the best time shooting with all of them, Mr. Rensil D’Silva, Mr Deo, Mr. Karan Boolani. I loved the whole process of rehearsals before the take and the conversations we would have about the scene.

Jessica: Tell us something about your future projects.

Akshay: That’s a secret! But you will come to know soon 😉

Jessica: If you get an offer to work in a Bollywood film, opposite which actress would you love to work with and why?

Akshay: I would love to work in a film where I play a happy smiling cheerful guy because Veer was everything but that. Haha! I really had to curb my funny bone on set to maintain the seriousness required to play Veer.  All the actresses are so wonderful and hard working. I’d love to work with all of them, one film at a time.

Jessica: There are so many people who are struggling in the entertainment industry. How would you like to motivate them?

Akshay: Blinders. You’ve got to have blinders on. No matter what is happening around you, no matter who is doing what, you need to have blinders on and focus on the target, on the goal that you have. Write it down. Remind yourself of that each day and keep moving forward. Sustained effort is stronger than momentary bursts of enthusiasm. And lastly, don’t ever let anyone tell you can’t do it!

Jessica: As an ideal man, what do you expect from your lady?

Akshay: This ideal man was very lucky to find his ideal lady. I am happily married to my childhood sweetheart. In fact, I got married right between the shoot of 24. I asked them to give me a week off to go get married and come back. So on the 7th day, I was back, shooting at ATU. I’m yet to go for my honeymoon 😛

Jessica: Are you a beach person or a mountain person? And also what is your dream destination and why?

Akshay: I love both. Beach brings out the nice, quiet and introspective person in me and the mountains bring out my crazy and adrenaline seeking self. To be honest, I’ve lived away from my family for a long time. So my ideal destination right now is all of us at the dinner table talking, laughing and celebrating. My dream destination is Maldives, where the table is next to the beach, or the hills…wow! ❤

Jessica: Tell us some things about you that are rarely known.

Akshay:

  • I would tell people I was a dolphin trainer because I was sick of that “I’m an actor” routine. A lot of them fell for it also. Guess I was a good actor huh! Haha.
  • I wrote a letter to Mr. Shah Rukh Khan in 1999, inviting him to come for my birthday party 😛
  • I can’t live without playing basketball.
  • I cook really well. Thanks to my mother’s training.
  • I’ve studied in 7 different schools all across India. Most of them were Kendriya Vidyalayas.
  • I can survive on water, Netflix and my kindle.
  • As a kid in 11th standard, I was introduced to 24 by a friend. I would spend hours and hours thinking of how it would be if we made the series here in India.

– Jessica Pancholi

5 thoughts on “A Talk With Akshay Ajit Singh

  1. Proud of my nephew! A well balanced, hard working, funny guy! May he get to play varied characters and prove he’s one of the finest actors! Waiting eagerly for his next venture! All the best!

    Like

Leave a Reply

