Khadi Talks with The Khadi Cult

What is Khadi?

Khadi is a cloth that is hand spun or hand woven. In 1918 Mahatma Gandhi started his movement for Khadi as relief programme for the poor masses living in India’s villages. Spinning and weaving was elevated to an ideology for self-reliance and self government.

15825734_1189728774445775_7519905836285665646_n

Khadi sounds so vintage and classic. When we talk about khadi, we feel it to be simple and old. But did you know that khadi has gone way ahead with fashion and trends! Priyanshi Jariwala, the lady behind The Khadi Cult based out at Surat is with whom we will be talking today. Let’s see what khadi has for us.

Jessica: Tell us something about yourself that people don’t know.

Priyanshi: That I have an alter ego and she is a super woman by night. On an honest note, I don’t think people know how anxious I get when it comes to work or performing well with whatever I do.

 JessicaWhat’s your inspiration behind “The Khadi Cult”?

Priyanshi: The idea was to promote sustainability and something that brought people back to their roots and I don’t think there’s anything better than khadi to support that idea.

JessicaWhat according to you is your favourite part of being the owner of The Khadi Cult?

Priyanshi: My clients, anyday. They bring out the creativity in me which I never knew existed in the first place. At the end of the day a more than satisfied client is way better than earning pots of money but not earning their love and trust.

JessicaWho and what things are your inspirations while creating your designs?

Priyanshi: Everything around me is an inspiration. It’s how you look at things and work on the value addition that helps you bring out the best in your product.

JessicaWhere do you see The khadi Cult in the next 5 years?

Priyanshi: Alive and kicking.

JessicaWhat challenges did you face during the initial stage?

Priyanshi: I had no fashion background or knowledge of the fabric when I started off. I was majorly relying aon the research I did from the places I visited and the people I met. Moreover when I started, khadi did not have a place in people’s wardrobes. The perception was way different then it is now. Moreover studying and working together from different cities would get extremely frustrating at times.

JessicaWhich fashion designer do you take inspiration from?

Priyanshi: Masaba gupta

JessicaWhat advice do you have for aspiring fashion designers?

Priyanshi: Trust your gut and just go for it.

JessicaSurat has a lot of budding fashion labels, how are they a competition for you?

Priyanshi: When people have a lot of options to select from, it is obviously a competition but it also motivates me to keep my game up and not be carried away by the appreciation I get for my work. It’s really amazing to see so many young designers many of which I know personally. Instead of competing I believe in empowering people in my business and people I work with.

JessicaWhat is the ultimate goal of your label?

Priyanshi: The goal has always been to bring back khadi to our wardrobes and give it a global presence which it always deserved.

 JessicaHow did you come up with the concept of such quirky and fun prints?

Priyanshi: Out of the box is what I was taught at b school. I took that very seriously and decided to experiment on a fabric which was not exposed to such quirkiness.

JessicaWhat’s the philosophy behind your designs?

Priyanshi: Wearable & voguish.

JessicaWhat is the quirkiest piece of clothing you have designed?

Priyanshi: I think all my clothes are quirky. It would be unjust to pick one.

JessicaWhich is the best outfit you designed recently?

Priyanshi: I think our chai and havaldar dresses are my favourite from our recent collection

 JessicaYou have had amazing prints. Out of all of them, which one is your personal favourite and why?

Priyanshi: That’s one difficult question. I would say all of them and why because they are simply AWESOME.

That was a lovely and inspirational talk with the beauty behind The Khadi Cult…wishing you more success!

– Jessica Pancholi

Leave a Reply

